



Before we turn our attention to what's new, what's next, and what's still being negotiated in Sacramento, we want to thank everyone who joined us yesterday to celebrate the business community's leading advocates. We launched the Bizzis last year to recognize extraordinary leadership among small business owners, fearless business organizations, pro-business elected officials, and BizFed's most impactful policy influencers. This year, we gathered to honor 19 Bizzi awardees with outsize impact and influence.

We invite you to share our video montages capturing, in their own words, what this recognition means to them. We also invite you to watch and share our video of BizFed Chair Elect **Fran Inman**, our 2022 Advocate of the Year, returning to the Bizzis stage to present this year's top advocacy award to Western States Petroleum Association's **Patty Senecal**. Count on Fran to show up in her "system of systems" cap, armed with an **original BizFed rap**, to present this Bizzi Award with inimitable style. Congratulations to all honorees!







2023 Advocate of the Year **Patty Senecal**, pioneering business leader **Billie Greer**, and 2022 Advocate of the Year **Fran Inman**.

## **MAYOR RICHARD RIORDAN LEGACY AWARD**

State infrastructure czar **Antonio Villaraigosa** joined us to present a special Bizzi Award to Los Angeles County Supervisor **Kathryn Barger**. Like the late great Mayor Riordan, Supervisor Barger recognizes government sometimes has to get out of its own way to best serve people. We thank former Mayor Villaraigosa for spotlighting how Supervisor Barger balanced public health concerns with the concerns of dying businesses during the coronavirus pandemic – and successfully addressed both. We're humbled to count these pragmatic problem solvers among our partners.



California infrastructure czar and former mayor of Los Angeles **Antonio**Villaraigosa presents BizFed's inaugural **Mayor Richard Riordan**Legacy **Award** to Los Angeles County Supervisor **Kathryn Barger**.



Business Nonprofit of the Year Los Angeles County's 1st Supervisorial District DTLA Chamber - Claudia Oliveira

Elected Official of the Year
Los Angeles County's 1st Supervisorial District
Assemblymember Blanca Rubio

Business of the Year Los Angeles County's 2nd Supervisorial District Watson Land Company - Trini Jimenez

Elected Official of the Year Los Angeles County's 2nd Supervisorial District Inglewood Mayor James Butts

Business Nonprofit of the Year Los Angeles County's 3rd Supervisorial District Venice Chamber - George Francisco

Elected Official of the Year
Los Angeles County's 3rd Supervisorial District
Los Angeles City Councilmember John Lee

Business Nonprofit of the Year
Los Angeles County's 4th Supervisorial District
Long Beach Area Chamber - Jeremy Harris

Elected Official of the Year
Los Angeles County's 4th Supervisorial District
Assemblymember Mike Gipson

Business Nonprofit of the Year Los Angeles County's 5th Supervisorial District Greater San Fernando Valley Chamber - Nancy Hoffman Vanyek

> Elected Official of the Year Los Angeles County's 5th Supervisorial District Senator Anthony Portantino

Advocate of the Year
Patty Senecal - Western States Petroleum Association

Mayor Richard Riordan Legacy Award Supervisor Kathryn Barger

Queen Bee Award Rachel Michelin - California Retailers Association

Policy Changemaker of the Year Jennifer Hernandez - Holland & Knight

Urgent Activist Award Hotel Association of Los Angeles - Heather Rozman

Courage-To-Run Award
Los Angeles City Councilmember Traci Park

Common Sense Award Assemblymember Miguel Santiago

Show-Me-The-Money Award
Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez

Super Statesman Award Los Angeles City Council President Paul Krekorian

Special thanks to our generous sponsors: Watson Land Company, Kaiser Permanente, Ruzbehjon Inc., Supervisor Kathryn Barger, Hotel Association of Los Angeles, Majestic Realty, Athens Services, Valero, Verizon, Chevron, Chiquita Canyon Landfill Inc, DoorDash, DTLA Chamber, Marathon Petroleum, Signal Hill Petroleum, Southern California Edison, Supervisor Hilda Solis, Target, Waymo, West Basin Municipal Water District, Western States Petroleum Association.